The Shondes are getting ready to release a new EP that features b-Sides from their My Dear One sessions, and we’ve got the lead track off the EP for you to download today. The new EP, titled Lines & Hooks +3, will be available November 16th on Fanatic Records and includes “Lines & Hooks” and three other tracks. Check out the tracklisting below.

“Lines & Hooks” is also the new single off The Shondes’ sophomore album, My Dear One, which was released in May. The album was described to us as a break-up record that anyone could relate to. I haven’t had a chance to spin the record yet, but after checking out the tracks below, I look forward to doing so.

From doing a little research on the band, I can tell you that The Shondes are based in Brooklyn and are best known for potent political anthems and heartbreaking violin hooks. The band consists of Louisa Solomon (bass/vocals) Elijah Oberman (violin/Vocals), Fureigh (guitar), and Temim Fruchter (Drums). They are described as being outspoken and visible in their communities regarding issues of sexuality, gender, and religion. They self-released their debut album, The Red Sea in January of 2008 and toured nationwide in support of the album that same year.

Along with “Lines & Hooks”, we’ve also included a couple more tracks off My Dear One for you to check out below in the Dig-It section. Take a listen and let us know what you think.

The Shondes have already begun recording demos for their third album. For more info, music, and videos from the band, check out their MySpace page.

Lines & Hooks +3 Tracklisting:

01. Lines & Hooks (MP3)
02. Mourning Doves
03. Over The Noise
04. Something To Sing About

Your Dig-It Downloads:

Download: Lines & Hooks
Download: My Dear One
Download: Make It Beautiful

The Shondes on: [Amazon] [iTunes]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.